More About

How Texas Coastal CattleWomen Came to Be...

In 1983 Mrs. Becky Terry, Texas CattleWomen President, and a group of CattleWomen approached the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo (HLSR) management about hosting a State Beef Cook off at the Livestock Show.  Two every successful back to back State Cook offs were hosted by the HLSR at the 1984 and 1985 Shows.

After the second Cook off, Peggy Jobes, Lin Adams Johnson and Sandy Scott started talking about forming a local in the Houston area and through the influence and guidance of TCW past president, Beck Terry of Alpine and TCW president, Betty Huggins, of Kerrville, organized Texas Coastal CattleWomen in 1987.  As a result, these ladies graciously came to Houston to install the officers of the newly organized Local.

TCCW is a hardworking group of ladies dedicated to informing consumers of the nutritional value of beef and the importance of the beef industry and its contribution to the economy of the nation.  TCCW believes in supporting youth in their education pursuit to continues this cause today.


Texas Coastal CattleWomen has been fortunate to have the best volunteers since its inception.  The following ladies have had the honor of serving as Texas Coastal CattleWomen President.

Peggy Jobes.  1986-1987, 1987-1988

Sandy Scott.  1988-1989, 1989-1990

Jo Ann Parish.  1990-1991, 1991-1992

Cheryl Knape. 1992-1993, 1993-1994

Karen Conlan. 1994-1995, 1995-1996

Kim Stegman.  1996-1997, 1997-1998

Ruth Pulido (deceased 2018).  1998-1999

Gladys Conner (deceased 2013).  1999-2000, 2000-2001

Rosemary Gambino.  2001-2002, 2002-2003

Dorothy Chesser.  2003-2004, 2004-2005

Nita Johnson.  2005-2006, 2006-2007

Mary Bain.  2007-2008, 2008-2009

Lin Adams Johnson.  2009-2010, 2010-2011

Nita Johnson. 2011-2012, 2012-2013

Jacqui Davie.  2013-2014, 2014-2015

Thuy Grimes.  2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018, 2018-2019, 2019-Present